Author Topic: Basic Guide to Capping with Hypercam  (Read 43748 times)

Offline Ruffah

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1255
Basic Guide to Capping with Hypercam
« on: February 17, 2013, 03:04:49 PM »
Small guide to capturing:





When minimizing the window , hypercam has got a nice little controlpanel for recording sitting at the taskbar for easy recording.

Hypercam Settings:



Select Xvid codec and click properties..



This is what your capturing settings should look like.
Select Unrestricted as Profile from the drop down menu.
Next click "more..." to bring up the configuration and set your Quantization values as the screenshot.



Make sure capture mouse cursor is deselected.



Deselect "show recording bounds"


Processing the video using virtualdub 
(only if you need to process the video - you could also just upload your file directly if using xvid to capture as the filesize is small already.)



Drag the file into Virtualdub and select the "Video" dropdown menu (make sure it says "Full processing mode" if you are going to use filters".. Click the "Compression" tab and select Xvid (check the settings and change to bitrate @ 2000kb/s)
Next click the "Filters" tab.



Click "Add" and select null transform from the list and ok, repeat the process and add "resize" this time.
These two filters are the only ones you will need, null transform for cropping (select null transform on the list, and click "Cropping...") and resize to ensure correct aspect ratio after cropping.



Cropping the green and black bottom on nutv logo off.
Click ok after you,re done, and double click the resize filter.



Set Aspect ratio to disabled.. And put either 720x400 or 848x480 in the boxes..
Click ok , and ok again on the filters window to close it and save your options.



Click the audio tab select full processing mode, and click the compression tab.



Select mp3/mpeg-layer 3 and choose 128kbit/s on the list.
Settings done.



To skip having to do this everytime, save your processing settings.
Next time you need to process a clip just load the processing setting file and you are setup to cut your clip instantly.




Cutting is easy with virtualdub, just use the slider to find the starting and stop position you want to save, select start and stop positions with the two arrows.




Uploading to Mirrorcreator

Mirrorcreator is a tool for uploading your file once to Multiple hoster's.

In short you upload your file(s) (Max 10 at a time) to Mirrorcreator, which Mirrorcreator will then distribute to up to 12 selectable host's for you with no further uploading done from your part.

Here's how it works: (Click for larger images)

I would strongly recommend to create an account with them, it's free and will ease your future uploading by providing options to use your own accounts and fixed hoster selection, which as with no account you have to select each time you start a new upload/batch of uploads.  It also gives you basic filemanagement to delete and watch your files.


Lets start with setting up your options:


The basic file management:


Click on Account settings.

Note that some of the filehosts require an account to work with mirrorcreator these are mentioned on the front page and goes as following:

The rest works perfectly without accounts.

Now you can enter your filehost accounts into each of the respective fields you got an account for.



Just under you can create your own personal selection of filehosts for mirrorcreator to automatically select each time you make a new upload.


Now for the uploading part:

You select your file(s)/remote url and select the wanted hosters, if you,re still not using an account the bottom indicate which hosters you will need your own account to upload to (note that you can select the affected hosts, but the upload to them will fail unless you enter an account (only have to do it once)



After the upload has finished, You will get the links as a Mirrorcreator link + short link to share..



Which if you click will then take you to the download screen for all the hosts you selected, and where you can get each individual link if wanted. (Remember to share the Mirrorcreator link with the individual link or you risk losing your Mirrorcreator account (Your filehost accounts will not be affected)


Note: Filepost has failed since i don't have an account myself and won't use them.

You click download on the host you want to get the file from



That's it.


Offline minilove

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1068
Re: Basic Guide to Capping with Hypercam
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2013, 05:18:02 PM »
Great guide.

Offline LICKALOT

  • Senior
  • *
  • Posts: 89
Re: Basic Guide to Capping with Hypercam
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2013, 11:01:26 PM »
Dont know if this will be of any help to recording, but I just started using the reather good free programme that allows you to record and capure all whats on your screen including sound for free

http://download.cnet.com/oCam/3000-13633_4-75758209.html

Offline spapaars

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 9838
Re: Basic Guide to Capping with Hypercam
« Reply #3 on: July 18, 2013, 12:09:24 PM »
Dont know if this will be of any help to recording, but I just started using the reather good free programme that allows you to record and capure all whats on your screen including sound for free

http://download.cnet.com/oCam/3000-13633_4-75758209.html
A very good screen recorder with stereo sound!
Received a modification after starting up.
Now it after stopping recording, immediately ready to record again.
With the old version you had to wait until everything is encoded.

Offline xx2000xx

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 751
Re: Basic Guide to Capping with Hypercam
« Reply #4 on: July 20, 2013, 07:18:39 AM »
I used for camtasia all my life but bandicam is the best for now. No offense but there are better options and settings, and if people are interested I can help them out. We need more cappers here too, so don't take offense to it as you took a lot of time in doing it but I'll give you cam/ban which are pay, for free if you're not freaked out by pirating software and of course you don't have to worry about viruses or anything as now days everything is false positive if you're running an AVP. For me I don't even do firewall or any anti-virus program because I know what I'm doing and don't need that bloat-ware, as those programs are for people who don't know what the fuck they're doing.
« Last Edit: July 20, 2013, 07:23:06 AM by xx2000xx »

Offline spapaars

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 9838
Re: Basic Guide to Capping with Hypercam
« Reply #5 on: July 20, 2013, 11:16:21 AM »
I used for camtasia all my life but bandicam is the best for now. No offense but there are better options and settings, and if people are interested I can help them out. We need more cappers here too, so don't take offense to it as you took a lot of time in doing it but I'll give you cam/ban which are pay, for free if you're not freaked out by pirating software and of course you don't have to worry about viruses or anything as now days everything is false positive if you're running an AVP. For me I don't even do firewall or any anti-virus program because I know what I'm doing and don't need that bloat-ware, as those programs are for people who don't know what the fuck they're doing.

Tried the unregistered Bandicam (with recording limitations) and it works very well.
The version without limitations, I would like to have  j

Offline xx2000xx

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 751
Re: Basic Guide to Capping with Hypercam
« Reply #6 on: August 11, 2014, 01:44:01 PM »
Sorry for not paying attention to this thread. Here's the cracked version of bandicam that I use: http://mir.cr/PPU51OHX

I got it off of IPT and avoid the ones on TPB as ppl say the crack is a virus. The problem is that once you're exit it out and restart it, it will say it's invalid so you have to uninstall and re-install it again to make it work. Maybe if I had a better firewall program I can let it not call home or block it on my hosts file but I'm lazy and don't use it that much with the lack of stuff going on with USA.

http://www.bandicam.com/faqs/vfw-x264-xvid-divx-h264-codec/ use that guide to use x264 as xvid is garbage now and has been dead for a while.

Offline Buster

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2847
Re: Basic Guide to Capping with Hypercam
« Reply #7 on: August 19, 2014, 08:33:35 PM »
Anyone know how I can get a full version to Hypercam and Hypersnap?

Offline spapaars

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 9838
Re: Basic Guide to Capping with Hypercam
« Reply #8 on: August 20, 2014, 12:16:31 PM »
Dont know if this will be of any help to recording, but I just started using the reather good free programme that allows you to record and capure all whats on your screen including sound for free

http://download.cnet.com/oCam/3000-13633_4-75758209.html
Latest update, a pause button  tuu:


Offline MotherBrain

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3450
Re: Basic Guide to Capping with Hypercam
« Reply #9 on: October 05, 2014, 04:03:25 AM »
Here's a great utility to make screenshots : SCREENSHOT CAPTOR !!!  tuu:
http://www.donationcoder.com/Software/Mouser/screenshotcaptor/

It's VERY configurable (it can scare) but once set properly, this software is a gem.

- In it's simplest form, this software allows you to screencapture a region of your screen by simply pressing "PrintScreen" (the image file is saved on your computer without any dialog window appearing).

- But you can highly customize it to do nearly anything you can imagine, like automatically send the image to an image host, resize the image, smoothen it, add a watermark, description, etc.


Here are my settings :
-
The Basics > Startup Options > I set it to "Stay in Memory" for a fast launch
The Basics > HotKeys and Shortcuts > I have set :
   - Ctrl+PrtScr = "Selected Region" (to select an area of the screen to capture)
   - PrtScr = "Repeat Region" (now everytime I press PrtScr, the selected region will be captured)
The Basics > Saving And Loading Files > Set my defaut Screenshot folder
Basic Capturing > UNTICK "Play Capture Sound" (because if you are recording a video in the same time, the sound will be recorded too !)
Basic Capturing > If you like to watermark your captures, you can tick "Watermark with image"
Advanced Tweaking > Image File Format > I set image Compression Level to 1/10 (which roughly equals 8/10 JPEG compression)
Advanced Tweaking > Quick Bar and Post Cap > You may untick "Enable and show quick capture bar" if like me you think it's an annoyance
Tools > ExternalTools > You can set here the default programs (image editor, video editor, etc.) that can be used for postprocessing
« Last Edit: November 25, 2014, 03:27:03 AM by MotherBrain »

Offline Kitek

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5989
    • LIVE
Re: Basic Guide to Capping with Hypercam
« Reply #10 on: December 31, 2014, 04:32:38 AM »
Anyone know how I can get a full version to Hypercam and Hypersnap?
http://mir.cr/0V2JK1AK

Offline xx2000xx

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 751
Re: Basic Guide to Capping with Hypercam
« Reply #11 on: January 07, 2015, 03:55:02 PM »
I actually got this the other day on IPT as I was going to check it out in March for BBCAN3. Here is the latest version: http://mir.cr/2MPZIJLW

Offline xx2000xx

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 751
Re: Basic Guide to Capping with Hypercam
« Reply #12 on: January 23, 2015, 07:55:56 PM »
Latest Bandicam which is my fav and now supports capping directly to the .mp4 container instead of .avi only which is very nice: http://mir.cr/1FYX2LCM

Offline xx2000xx

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 751
Re: Basic Guide to Capping with Hypercam
« Reply #13 on: January 23, 2015, 09:01:24 PM »
Here is techsmiths snagit. I've used techsmiths camtasia for so many years as it's great but I think snagit is just the recording program instead of the editor and all the other junk camtasia puts in it: http://mir.cr/0ACWSORY

While I'm at it here's the best video splitter by a mile (no debate) in SolveigMM Video Splitter but it is actually too complex for what I usually need: http://mir.cr/IGY5PB0P

So I use Ultra Video Splitter which is great for your basic splitting and better than boilsoft which I've used for the past 10 years: http://mir.cr/IW1USHBD

Offline MotherBrain

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3450
Re: Basic Guide to Capping with Hypercam
« Reply #14 on: January 23, 2015, 09:44:05 PM »
While I'm at it here's the best video splitter by a mile (no debate) in SolveigMM Video Splitter but it is actually too complex for what I usually need: http://mir.cr/IGY5PB0P

So I use Ultra Video Splitter which is great for your basic splitting and better than boilsoft which I've used for the past 10 years: http://mir.cr/IW1USHBD

Thanks for the advice. Are these splitters frame-accurate ? I'm using Boilsoft for its simplicity but most of the time, it doesn't split exactly where I want, it's like 5seconds earlier or later sadd: But what I like is that it's very fast and loads big files instantly (where Solveig needs to preload it, which can be extremely long when the file weights several gigs).